Friday, December 26, 2014

Friday, December 19, 2014

Friday, December 12, 2014

Friday, December 5, 2014

Friday, November 28, 2014

Friday, November 21, 2014

Friday, November 14, 2014

Friday, November 7, 2014

Friday, October 31, 2014

Friday, October 24, 2014

Friday, October 17, 2014

Friday, October 10, 2014

Friday, October 3, 2014

Friday, September 26, 2014

Friday, September 19, 2014

Friday, September 12, 2014

Friday, September 5, 2014

Friday, August 29, 2014

Friday, August 22, 2014

Friday, August 15, 2014

Friday, August 8, 2014

Friday, August 1, 2014

Friday, July 25, 2014

Friday, July 4, 2014

Friday, June 27, 2014

Friday, June 20, 2014

Friday, June 13, 2014

Page 212: We're Back!

Dear Readers:

We're back, with our first new page since we went on hiatus to tidy up all the old pages! As you may recall, Molly is being held prisoner by the Moon Pirates while Max and Grakko are trapped underground in the Kingdom of the Fairies, who believe Max to be their long-awaited god.

See you next week for another new page, and thanks for reading!
Best,
Kevin



Click HERE to see the whole story.

Friday, June 6, 2014

One More Week Until New Pages!


Dear Readers:

Thanks for being so patient while I've been polishing up the early pages of The Moon Prince! New pages are currently underway and will start running again on June 13th.

In the meantime, here's a little animation showing how I made page 207, starting with the “thumbnail” rough sketch I did on typing paper when I wrote it, then showing the collage layout I made with photos and 3D renderings, then the line drawing I made from that, the colored version, and finally the finished page with word balloons and “gutters” between the panels.

You'll notice that the same person is posing for all the male figures - that's me, because I work really cheap! Queen Melissa is modeled by my lovely wife Melissa, the real-life mom of the real-life Max and Molly.

Thanks as always for reading!
Best,
Kevin


Friday, May 30, 2014

Zaap!


Dear Readers:

Thanks for being so patient while I've been polishing up the early pages of The Moon Prince! New pages are currently underway and will start running again on June 13th.

In the meantime, here's a little animation showing how I made a single panel from page 125, starting with the “thumbnail” rough sketch I did on typing paper when I wrote it, then showing the collage layout I made with photos and 3D renderings, then the line drawing I made from that, the colored version, and finally the finished panel. 

Thanks as always for reading!
Best,
Kevin


Friday, May 23, 2014

Good News Your Majesty!

Dear Readers:

Thanks for being so patient while I've been polishing up the early pages of The Moon Prince! New pages are currently underway and will start running again on June 13th.

In the meantime, here's a little animation showing how I made a single panel from page 78, starting with the “thumbnail” rough sketch I did on typing paper when I wrote it, then showing the collage layout I made with photos (that's me posing for every figure!), then the line drawing I made from that, the colored version, and finally the finished panel with word balloons. 

Thanks as always for reading!
Best,
Kevin



Friday, May 16, 2014

All Polished Up!

Dear Readers:

Today I finished the “polishing up” process for the first 60 pages of The Moon Prince, to make them more consistent with the rest of the book. I changed lots of details like the overall color, the thickness of the drawing lines, the length of people's hair, even punctuation. All of the revised pages have been uploaded along with some other minor changes I made to the rest of the pages (more than 200 all together!) so I hope you'll have a look through them all if you have a chance.

This weekend I'll start new pages again, and since I like to work a bit ahead it'll be several weeks (June 13th) before I begin posting them. In the meantime, here's a little animation showing how I made page 146, starting with the “thumbnail” rough sketch I did on typing paper when I wrote it, then showing the collage layout I made with various 3D renderings of Grakko, then the line drawing I made from that, the colored version, and finally the finished page with word balloons. Each page takes me about 20 hours from start to finish!

Thanks as always for reading!
Best,
Kevin




Friday, May 9, 2014

More Polished Pages


Dear Readers:

The Moon Prince is on a break until June 13th while I go back and polish up the first 50 or 60 pages to match the rest of the book. So you can see what I'm doing, here's a couple of examples as little animations - pages 33 and 36.

Best wishes and thanks for reading!

Kevin




Friday, May 2, 2014

Two More Polished Pages


Dear Readers:

The Moon Prince is on a break until June 13th while I go back and polish up the first 50 or 60 pages to match the rest of the book. So you can see what I'm doing, here's a couple of examples as little animations - pages 21 and 25.

Best wishes and thanks for reading!

Kevin



Friday, April 25, 2014

Two polished pages

Dear Readers:

As I mentioned last week, The Moon Prince is on a break until June 13th while I go back and polish up the first 50 or 60 pages to match the rest of the book. So you can see what I'm doing, here's a couple of examples as little animations - pages 12 and 19.

Best wishes and thanks for reading!

Kevin



Friday, April 18, 2014

Page 211: A Little Secret

Dear Readers:

Today's page marks the exact halfway point of The Moon Prince story -- there were 210 pages before this, and there are 210 pages to go. Before we get to the second half of the story, The Moon Prince is going to take a break for two months, with no new pages until Friday, June 13th. 

This is so I can go back and polish up the first 50 or 60 pages to make their style more consistent with the rest of the book. To show you what I'm doing (and hopefully keep you in the habit of coming here every week!), I'm going to post animated examples each Friday showing how certain pages looked when they were first drawn, and how they look after all the polishing. The first of these, for page 10, is just below today's new page, so scroll down if you're curious!
Thanks as always for reading The Moon Prince!

-Kevin



Click HERE to see the whole story.

The Page 10 Polishing-up Animation:


Friday, April 11, 2014

Friday, April 4, 2014

Page 209: Reading Minds

Dear Readers:

This week's page of The Moon Prince contains an EXTREMELY OFFENSIVE word - perhaps the worst word in the English language. I thought for a long time about using this word because I am aware that there are children and families following this story. In the end, I decided the word is important to the story because racism is important to the story. 

Please skip this episode if you believe the word is inappropriate for yourself or your children.

Best regards,
Kevin



Click HERE to see the whole story.

Friday, March 28, 2014

Friday, March 21, 2014

Page 207: That'd Be Suicide!

This week, the plot thickens!



Click HERE to see the whole story.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Page 206: Pure Happenstance

Here's the latest exposition-filled page of The Moon Prince! Oh, well, at least there's an airship battle in panel 5...



Click HERE to see the whole story.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Friday, February 28, 2014

Friday, February 21, 2014

Friday, February 14, 2014